A year of lasts which leads to firsts.

This is an emotional year for us.  We are having a year of lasts. But before we get to the lasts let me tell you first the beginning of our immigration story. Five years ago my husband and I were talking about his homesickness.  He missed his family. Being so far away we are unable to be a real part of their lives.  Unfortunately it’s quite costly, as most of you already know, to travel back and forth to Ireland from the States.  At that time we discussed the idea of moving our family to be closer to them when Tommy, our eldest, graduated high school in June 2015.

1924286_56649624760_2188_n
My Irish stud of a husband on one of our visits to home in County Donegal, Ireland.

A month prior to the school year, I reminded Ronan of this discussion.  As I was in the process of applying to grad school it was of importance that we knew where we would be living in the upcoming year. After a week of decision making I received a text message from himself .. Fuck it, we are moving home. This eloquent text preceded our first last by two weeks.

Our last first day of school in the states was bittersweet.  It is exciting to think that next year we will all be in a different culture surrounded by family.  Don’t get me started on how much I am looking forward to my children speaking with an Irish brogue.  That being said, we love the community that we live in now.  We are truly a part of something here.  We are baseball, softball, soccer parents.  There are friends here that we will dearly miss when we move.  (please visit us friends!!)

10536941_10152664330419761_3638623368874868493_n
Molly-Ann is our youngest and our only daughter. She is currently in the 2nd grade.
10616003_10152664284079761_5137799761269082019_n
Malachy is our middle child. He is currently a 6th grader at the local middle school.
148704_10152663908804761_3945181039956300857_n
This is Tommy, our oldest. He is a Senior in high school.

It is easy to get worried that when we move we won’t have a group of friends that are so easy to laugh with, cry with, and have serious discussions with. ( I will dearly miss Shannon, Gayle, and my sister Katie amongst so many others) I have to push these thoughts aside and just know that we will have a community that we will quickly be entrenched into and find another group of friends that will become a part of our hearts.  ##Cheeseball alert## It reminds me of the old Brownie scout song:

Make new friends,
but keep the old.
One is silver,
the other is gold.

A circle is round,
it has no end.
That’s how long,
I will be your friend.

A fire burns bright,
it warms the heart.
We’ve been friends,
from the very start.

You have one hand,
I have the other.
Put them together,
We have each other.

Silver is precious,
Gold is too.
I am precious,
and so are you.

You help me,
and I’ll help you
and together
we will see it through.

The sky is blue
The Earth is green
I can help
to keep it clean

Across the land
Across the sea
Friends forever
We will always be.

When you add being emotional to having a not so short to do list before the move: it is easy at times to give in to stress and snap.  The simple act of downsizing my book collection made me tear up yesterday.  You would have thought that it was Sophie’s choice how I was acting.  Sometimes it is easier to look backwards and see what you are leaving, like a few dozen books and friends, when it is better to look ahead to the exciting times that lay ahead.  

I am looking forward to our lasts in the States, and I will share the lasts as we move forward.  Sure I will get emotional along the way but I will enjoy the journey. I will enjoy these lasts with our friends and family here which puts us closer to the many firsts in Ireland.

10500461_10152753272140546_1481457839595412769_n
Here is a gorgeous picture of the local area (granny and Aunt Dee’s house in view) taken by my Brother in Law Donal Sharkey.
6 thoughts on “A year of lasts which leads to firsts.

Leave a Reply

