Lasts leading to Firsts : Malachy’s (not Malachi’s) last stateside birthday

My poor middle child has been saddled with a name that he has had to constantly correct people’s pronunciation on, politely I must add. I blame Frank McCourt. If I hadn’t read Angela’s Ashes shortly before he was conceived, I would not have been charmed by the name. If not for this twist of fate, he would not have had to, from an early age, learn to say “Actually my name is Malachy, like a key, but you can call me Mal”.

IMG_5174

My sweet Malachy just had a birthday a few days ago.  His last birthday before becoming a teenager also happens to be the last birthday he will celebrate in the US.  We were able to celebrate at home with ice-cream cake, family, and a small group of his friends.  I must ask, when in the world did Middle school children get so loud?? There were only 3 of them over as guests but I was scared that the police were going to be called in for breaking several noise ordinances in our area.  😉

IMG_5172IMG_5171

IMG_5176 IMG_5177

The weather cooperated with us for the entertainment, thankfully.  It has been quite snowy in the midatlantic region of the US this winter, as you may have heard or experienced yourself.  While it was not snowing on the day of Malachy’s party, there was plenty of snow on the ground for a massive snow ball fight.  I wish I had pictures but we lived in the moment and enjoyed watching the kids and *ahem* some adults enjoy in the terror of snow!  I don’t want to say that this was instigated by my husband, but I would be lying if I said that he had not.  Not sure if my big fella will ever grow up completely, but he is great craic the way he is ( and a great daddy) so I don’t want him to change.  shhh! Don’t let him know, the head is big enough as it is already. ❤

It was such a joy to see my wee boy enjoying his day so much.  He doesn’t always know it but he has the key to my heart.

Leave a Reply

